Week 5 Start/Sit – Thursday Night Football edition

Posted: October 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

Welcome back, Wagoners! Thursday night marks the beginning of Week 5 of your fantasy season and I want to help you dominate it. My recommendations last week were pretty much spot on and for that, I will gladly accept your over-the-internet pat-on-the-backs. They are my second favorite kind!

Side note: If you don’t see your players mentioned here, feel free to tweet your lineup questions to me @waiverwagon. I promise to answer them all and maybe sometimes (if I’m super lucky and the Rams don’t change their QB again) I’ll even answer them correctly.
Extra Side note: I will be adding the rest of the games for the weekend in the coming days. Be excited!


Vikings @ Packers

Start:
Matt Asiata, RB 
That Packers defense.. Woof. Also, It appears that the Vikes may or may not be without Teddy Bridgewater. Either way, I think they continue to lean on the run against Green Bay’s putrid rush defense (ranked dead last at ~175 yards per game) and Asiata stands to benefit the most, albeit conceding a few touches to rookie Jerick McKinnon. I think he ends up with 10-15 carries for 65 and a touch to go along with 3 or 4 grabs for another 30-40 yards.
Cordarelle Patterson, WR
Remember that note about Green Bay’s rush defense? Well it doesn’t matter anymore, because Patterson is a WR. I know he’s gotten off to a slow start and people are even talking about dropping him but listen, the guy is simply too talented to toss back into the waiver pool. The Vikes know he’s a playmaker and I think they let him do his thing this week. Gimme 5/85/1 for CP84 this weekend. 

Sit:
Teddy Bridgewater, QB
I know, I just told you to run to the wire and pick him up. Well I hope you did. I also hope you have a better option for this weekend. I mentioned Teddy’s ankle earlier and, while the Vikes may not be super duper concerned about it, I am. At least this week on such little rest and with a trip to Lambeau in the cards. Unless he’s all you’ve got, I’d stay away from the TB this week. 

Start:
Jordy Nelson,
WR
This guy is going to be the best WR in fantasy this year. He’s on an insane pace and I don’t see anybody slowing him down. Oh, and I’m facing him this week so.. you know.. 200 yards and 2 TD.
Randall Cobb, WR
Minnesota is middle-of-the-pack as far as pass defense is concerned and they’re facing Aaron Rodgers. Randall Cobb should have a very nice game while Minny’s DBs are chasing Jordy all over the field. 

Sit:
Eddie Lacy, RB
I was very tempted to list him as a Start for the simple reason being that I am facing him this week and he didn’t do much last week (save for a late TD plunge that salvaged his day). He’ll probably go crazy this week. I’ll say 80 yards and 2 TDs.


Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 9.56.05 PM

Leave a Comment!

