Welcome back for today’s playoff edition of Start/Sit. I hope you’ve got good matchups this week and I hope you didn’t face DeMarco Murray Thursday night. If you did, I hope you’re in more than one league and made the playoffs in that one, too. If so, read along to see how I feel about your chances of winning that one. 


Steelers @ Bengals

Start:
Heath Miller, TE
Cincy has struggled against the TE so far this season and Big Ben hurt his hand last weekend so perhaps he’ll feel less compelled/capable to/of throwing it deep. He peppered Miller with double digit targets last weekend and may very well do the same thing in this one. 

Sit:
Ben Roethlisberger, QB
As I mentioned before, Big Ben hurt his hand last week, and Cincy hurts fantasy QBs. Avoid this matchup if you can. 

Start:
Mohamed Sanu, WR
Sanu has tapered off a bit since AJ Green’s return, but he’s found a way to score at home and Pittsburgh’s secondary is a bit vulnerable. I think he takes advantage and finds the end zone again this week. 

Sit:
Jeremy Hill, RB
Pittsburgh isn’t great against the run, but Hill can’t keep his mouth shut and may have found himself in the dog house as a result. With Gio Bernard coming back and taking the lion’s share of the carries, I just can’t see a big day for Hill.


Colts @ Browns

Start:
Dan Herron, RB
I was back and forth between Herron and Moncrief on this recommendation, but I’ll stick with guaranteed opportunity over risk/reward at this juncture. I can see Indy trying to get Richardson a chance or two, but this looks like Boom’s backfield going forward. 

Sit:
Trent Richardson, RB
Yeah I don’t think the homecoming will help his pathetic YPC numbers or overall value. Such a bust for Indy. 

Start:
Isaiah Crowell, RB
Assuming he plays, Crowell should have a big day vs a reeling Colts run D. Crowell also benefits from teammate Terrance West’s inability to hold on to the football and subsequent visit to the doghouse as a result. 

Sit:
Brian Hoyer, QB
Hoyer has been pretty bad and I actually think he’s on a very short leash with all of the Manziel talk we’ve been hearing for the past week. I’d avoid in all but the most desperate of situations. 


Buccaneers @ Lions

Start:
Mike Evans, WR
Evans was finally held out of the end zone last week but he’s just too talented to sit and I don’t expect that to happen again anyway. The Lions are great in all aspects of defensive stats, but don’t be surprised if Evans sneaks past them for a big gainer. 

Sit:
Josh McCown, QB

Up and down Josh McCown gets one of fantasy’s best defenses this week and I expect a pretty ugly result. Avoid. Please. 

Start:
Golden Tate, WR
Tate has not been quite the monster he was in Calvin Johnson’s absence, but he’s still been plenty serviceable and should benefit from the attention Tampa gives Megatron this week. 

Sit:
Reggie Bush, RB
Bush has declared himself to be fully healthy and has even been named the starter this week. Meh. Tampa has an underrated rush defense and should be getting LB Lavonte David back in this one. No thanks. 


Texans @ Jaguars

Start:
DeAndre Hopkins, WR
WOW. So about last week.. Yeesh. This kid’s had the talent all year and has gotten what appears to be his favorite QB back into the lineup just in time for the fantasy playoffs. Congrats if you own him and enjoy the ride. 

Sit:
Ryan Fitzpatrick, QB
No, I don’t expect 6 TD passes this week. I didn’t expect them last week either, granted, but c’mon. Moving on..

Start:
Marquise Lee, WR
His targets have increased each of the past three weeks and as a result, so has his yardage and he even found some pay dirt. I’m not guaranteeing a score this week, but I’m not afraid to say it might happen. That’s hard-hitting fantasy advice. 

Sit:
Denard Robinson, RB
I truly believe that the man that call Shoelace has come untied. I also truly believe that puns are always hilarious and called for in any and every situation. Oh, and I also believe that you should sit him this week. 


Ravens @ Dolphins

Start:
Justin Forsett, RB
The waiver wire claim of the year award winner gets a middle-of-the-pack matchup this week and has just been rumbling on everybody lately. Check his status before kickoff to make sure he’s playing (and he should be), and get him in your lineup if he is. 

Sit:
Steve Smith, WR
Smitty has been bad (outside of NFC South matchups) this season and I expect that to continue this week. He just doesn’t seem to have the burst/desire that he once did and I don’t like the matchup this week either. 

Start:
Jarvis Landry, WR
The Ravens are the most generous team in the league when it comes to fantasy WRs and Landry has been seeing more and more targets lately. I like him a lot in this matchup. 

Sit:
Lamar Miller, RB
The Ravens just lost their run-stuffing DT, Haloti Ngata, to a suspension, but I don’t think this helps Lamar Miller enough to warrant a recommendation at this point. He scored in his last matchup, but looked pretty sluggish otherwise. 


Jets @ Vikings

Start:
Chris Ivory, RB and/or Chris Johnson, RB
I like both of the Chris’s this week in a decent matchup against the Vikings. The problem, however, is the Jets’ QB situation limits their upside and scoring chances. I’d only start them if you don’t have another solid option. 

Sit:
Geno Smith, QB
I hope you weren’t considering starting him anyway, though. I’d also sit his WRs in this matchup as I expect it to be mostly a clinic by Minnesota’s defense. 

Start:
Greg Jennings, WR
The Jets secondary is very beatable and Jennings is just crafty enough to do it. He’s had TDs in two straight games and I think he pushes it to three this weekend. 

Sit:
Ben Tate, RB
I’m assuming Tate or Asiata gets the start in this one, but you don’t really want to worry about putting either one in your lineup at this point. 


Panthers @ Saints

Start:
Jonathan Stewart, RB
Stewart should get pretty much all of the carries in this one against a terrible Saints defense. I expect New Orleans to run away in this one, but I can see Stewart getting work in both the ground game and passing game. 

Sit:
Cam Newton, QB
If you haven’t learned your lesson by now, don’t worry, he’ll break your heart one more time. I don’t like Cam at all in this one and his career numbers in the Dome back up that dislike. 

Start:
Kenny Stills, WR
Stills has been a monster ever since Brandin Cooks got injured and I think that continues at home against an awful Carolina secondary. Start him with confidence. 

Sit:
Pierre Thomas, RB
It’s not that I don’t like Thomas in this one, it’s just that I expect Ingram to dominate the touches out of the backfield and I don’t really see a need for New Orleans to use Thomas’s pass-catching ability in what should be a pretty easy blowout. 


Giants @ Titans

Start:
Andre Williams, RB/Rashad Jennings, RB
Jennings injured his ankle last week and is questionable as of the typing of this article. If he goes, you start him. If he doesn’t, you start Williams. 

Sit:
Eli Manning, QB
The Titans don’t pose a great threat defensively, but I think Eli will spend most of the day handing off against the Titans’ awful run D. If you have a better option, use him. 

Start:
Delanie Walker, TE
The Titans lost both of their best WRs last weekend and I think Walker will benefit immediately. I think he’s going to get a lot of targets and maybe even a TD in this one. 

Sit:
Bishop Sankey, RB
I wouldn’t be surprised if Tennessee tried to lean on the ground game in this one, but I think New York may get up quickly and force their hand through the air. 


Rams @ Redskins

Start:
Tre Mason, RB
Mason draws a decently tough matchup this weekend against a Washington team that’s certainly the most vulnerable through the air, but he’s just been too good to sit and I think St. Louis may get an early lead with their defense forcing a big turnover. 

Sit:
Kenny Britt, WR
Kenny’s been the forgotten man for the past two weeks and I expect that to continue with the emergence of his counterpart, Stedman Bailey. 

Start:
Pierre Garcon, WR
Garcon has done nothing all season. That changes this weekend. If Desean Jackson is forced to miss this one with a leg injury, I think Pierre takes advantage of his absence. 

Sit:
Jordan Reed, TE
Reed got peppered with targets from Colt McCoy last week and I could certainly see that happening again, but St. Louis just locks TEs down and will probably continue to do so. 


Chiefs @ Cardinals

Start:
Travis Kelce, TE
He burned us all last weekend. I’m giving him another chance to do it again this weekend. Arizona has a great defense, but they are allowed some fantasy points to TEs, which probably only means that Fasano scores again. Good luck, Kelce owners.. 

Sit:
Dwayne Bowe, WR
I don’t think you were starting him anyway, but Bowe will probably be locked down by Patrick Peterson and I expect Jamaal Charles to pretty much be the entire offense this week anyway. 

Start:
Stepfan Taylor, RB
Taylor has been given the starting nod this week with Andre Ellington out due to injury. I don’t LOVE Taylor, but the Chiefs can be beaten on the ground and Taylor should be getting the work. 

Sit:
Larry Fitzgerald, WR
As of this writing, I don’t expect Fitz to play this weekend. If he does, I expect him to be less than 100% and probably pretty much locked down by the Chiefs pass defense. 


Bills @ Broncos

Start:
Robert Woods, WR
Buffalo should have to throw the ball to keep up in this one and Sammy Watkins will probably be bottled up. Give Woods a go if you need a FLEX.

Sit:
Fred Jackson, RB
I just can’t recommend any RB agains this Denver defense and in a situation where your team is going to have to throw it more than run it. 

Start:
CJ Anderson, RB
Don’t be afraid of the bad matchup. The Broncos are at home and having Peyton Manning as your QB always means you’ll have lanes as an RB. Start him with confidence. 

Sit:
Julius Thomas, TE
As of this writing, Thomas looks like he’ll be missing this contest. If he plays, I think he’ll be limited to red zone work and that might make him worth putting in your lineup but it’s the playoffs and I just can’t take that chance. 


49ers @ Raiders

Start:
Frank Gore, RB
Gore has been bad in bad matchups and good in good ones. This is a good matchup. 

Sit:
Vernon Davis, TE
What happened to this guy?? Watch. This will be his breakout game. 

Start:
Latavius Murray, RB
He should be good to go this weekend and I expect him to be featured pretty heavily. I know it’s a very tough matchup, but you may not have the luxury of using anybody else if you’re reading this. 

Sit:
Derek Carr, QB
This should be pretty ugly. Avoid at all costs. 


Seahawks @ Eagles

Start:
Marshawn Lynch, RB
Lynch just keeps getting the carries. Philly has played better defensively of late, but I just don’t see Lynch slowing down in this one. 

Sit:
Tony Moeaki, TE
You probably weren’t starting him anyway, but I couldn’t allow myself to put Doug Baldwin here with this matchup. 

Start:
Mark Sanchez, QB
Crazy, right? Not as crazy as you think. Obviously you don’t love the matchup, but Sanchez has been better at home than on the road this year and the volume of this offense makes him impossible to sit. 

Sit:
LeSean McCoy, RB
I’ve only said to sit him one time so far this season (I can’t remember when and am too lazy to check the archives) but he did poorly that week and I expect more of the same this week. I think Sproles will have a bigger game. 


Patriots @ Chargers

Start:
Brandon LaFell, WR
He’s Tom Brady’s second favorite target and he scored twice last weekend. Roll him out there and enjoy. 

Sit:
LeGarrette Blount, RB
The Chargers have been pretty good against the run this season and when they do give up yardage, it’s usually to receiving RBs. I think this will be a Vereen game, but who ever really knows with New England’s RBs? 

Start:
Antonio Gates, TE
New England plays great on the outside, defensively, but they are vulnerable to TEs. I think Rivers looks to Gates several times this weekend. 

Sit:
Keenan Allen, WR
I’m sorry, Keenan Allen owners. I hate this matchup and am not expecting his recent reemergence to continue in this one. 


Falcons @ Packers

Start:
Matt Ryan, QB
I know he’s usually bad on the road and the weather isn’t going to be nearly as warm as it is in Atlanta, but I think this is a game where Ryan steps up and tries to hang with Aaron Rodgers. I think Atlanta loses, obviously, but I expect big yardage from Matt. 

Sit:
Steven Jackson, RB
I think this will be a pass-heavy game for both teams. Except for Green Bay, who I expect to run. A lot. What was I saying? Oh yeah, sit Jackson.

Start:
Eddie Lacy, RB
This might be the best RB matchup of the weekend. Atlanta gives it up on the ground and through the air. Eddie Lacy can handle both responsibilities. Huge game ahead, methinks. 

Sit:
Davante Adams, WR
I know he had a huge game last week, but I think that was more about the Patriots forcing Rodgers to beat them with his 3rd and 4th reads, which he did. Atlanta doesn’t have the defense to force such an issue. 


That’s it for Week 14, good people. Best of luck in your playoff matchups this weekend and I hope to see you back here next weekend for round 2. I should add, if you don’t reach round 2, leave a link to this website on your league board so I can help them, too! Okay? I know it’s good advice, but please don’t keep it to yourself. As always, if you don’t see your players featured here, tweet me @waiverwagon and I’ll be happy to help you come to an informed decision about this guy or that.

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 9.56.05 PM

Leave a Comment!

