Fantasy Baseball: Top 25 Hitters

Posted: January 22, 2015 in Uncategorized

Greetings, Wagoners! It’s 2015 and Non-DFS Fantasy Football season is (and has been for a couple of weeks) officially over. I don’t know about you, but I’m already thinking about baseball. I’m in a Fantasy Basketball league, too, so I’m not unaware that there’s a season going on there, but I haven’t broadcasted any advice about it because I honestly just don’t dig as deeply into the NBA as I do the other two major leagues. That being said, I’m tied for 1st in my basketball league, so I must be doing something right. [Side note: Kobe, you were killing me. Thanks, though, for teaming up with Derrick Rose and turning into James Harden.] So, without further ado, I bring to you my initial 2015 Fantasy Baseball rankings. Okay, just a bit of further ado, I’m doing hitters only at this point. I hate drafting pitchers because I stream starting pitching all season long and rarely keep guys on my roster that aren’t closers. If you have any pitching questions, tweet them to me @waiverwagon and I’ll throw a solid guess your way! 


1. Mike Trout, OF
I just can’t see drafting anybody else with the first pick and you shouldn’t either. Trout is already one of the most consistent and dependable bats in the game and that’s what the 1st round is all about. 110/31/121/24/.301

2. Giancarlo Stanton, OF
There are a few other fantastic options that I could have listed here, but Stanton is just such a ridiculous power hitter that, if not for all of Trout’s 5-tool goodness, I’d consider putting him at #1. 105/36/115/7/.282

3. Andrew McCutchen, OF
So I guess you’re going OF in the 1st round, huh? Cutch is clutch and is most experts’ #2 ranked player. I can’t argue with that, but I just can’t get over Stanton’s HR potential. I’m sure whoever follows me with the #3 pick in my drafts this year will be absolutely thrilled. 117/24/102/22/.293

4. Paul Goldschmidt, 1B
Hey look! It’s not an outfielder! The good news is, he runs like one. Anytime you can get a HR-hitting, base-stealing player, you’re excited. Anytime you can get one of those that qualifies for 1B, you pass out. Better put him in your queue. 100/25/114/13/.292

5. Miguel Cabrera, 1B/3B
Miggy made a lot of people very angry last season. Miggy also won a lot of championships for people last season. I know he went almost back-to-back Triple-Crown-City in 2013 and fell off a bit, but he still had a very nice season in 2014. I’d be thrilled to get him at #5. 97/27/98/3/.313

6. Jose Abreu, 1B
So I guess you’re going OF/1B in the first round, huh? I, like many others, was very upset for having passed on Abreu so many times in my draft last season… and then the All-Star Break happened and I didn’t feel so bad (I also won the championship, so things turned out ok, despite Prince Fielder’s best [worst] efforts). I think he’s more the guy we saw in the first half last year, and less the seven HR guy from the second half. 95/33/95/2/.289

7. Carlos Gomez, OF
Gomez had himself a fantastic season despite pretty much being in the lineup by himself (no offense, Jonathan Lucroy). With the return of Ryan Braun and having Lucroy back and Aramis Ramirez healthy (for a little bit), look for him to raise his game even more this season. 101/27/100/28/.274

8. Ryan Braun, OF
Baby Cargo’s teammate returned in a big way last season, blasting 19 homers in 135 games. He also stole 11 bases in the process while hitting .266. Sign me up. 84/34/101/10/.294

9. Adam Jones, OF
Five straight seasons of .280 or better, 25+ HR, and nearly double digit SBs gets you one of the more consistent players in the game. He’s also played at least 149 games for five straight seasons. HOW CAN I RANK HIM THIS LOW? Let’s go for six straight, and I might make him top 5 next year *Crosses fingers behind my back*. 87/26/91/9/.283

10. Jose Bautista, 1B/OF
Last year, I had to decide between Jose Bautista and Jay Bruce, and I went with Bruce. The guy after me immediately chose Joey Bats. Like, Bruce’s name hadn’t hit my “Drafted Players” screen, and the dude took Bautista. That was my first clue that a mistake had been made. If he stays on the field (and his proclivity not to was what steered me astray): 93/34/102/2/.268

11. Edwin Encarnacion, 1B/3B 
This year, I’ll probably be torn between EE and Joey Bats. I am making a proclamation: If that happens again, I will take Jose Bautista this time. I still think EE is going to be very productive, however, and still highly recommend him. This is my penance after all, not yours. 87/31/96/2/.264

12. Anthony Rizzo, 1B
This is probably much higher than most other sights will rank Rizzo, and 1B is apparently quite deep this year, but I really liked what I saw from this kid last year and the scary thing is: He could be even better. 87/33/96/3/.273

13. Yasiel Puig, OF
This man is a beast. I know he can be somewhat inconsistent, but trust me, you want him on your team. He’s in a division that won’t be facing much good pitching (unless things change around the NL West) and he should still have some lineup support. Draft him. 92/21/87/14/.288

14. Hanley Ramirez, SS
The first place ribbon of the Big 3 shortstops this year belongs to Hanley, in my opinion. I know he missed some time the last two years, but when he’s in the lineup, he’s hitting. Perhaps a return to Boston will give him a boost as well. 91/23/92/12/.291

15. Anthony Rendon, 2B/3B
I’m sure other people will say they saw it coming, but I’ll be brutally honest with you here and declare that I was caught totally off guard by this kid’s 2014. I hate to rank him so highly based on one great year, but gosh, was it ever a great year. Also, he hit 7 bombs in 98 games in 2013, so I guess I should have seen it coming after all  Anyway: 100/17/87/16/.289

16. Troy Tulowitzki, SS
21 bombs in 91 games?! [Ignore that part about 91 games] 21 bombs?! Tulo is always such a gamble, and you’d better have contingency plans in place if you’re going to draft him, but gosh, can this guy hit a baseball. I think he’s staying in Coors and I’m hoping he’s staying off the DL.85/26/88/7/.285

17. Ian Desmond, SS
Three straight years of 20+ HRs and 20+ SBs. I know, that average though. Yeah, yeah, he hit .255 last year, but he was .280 or better in those previous two seasons. I think he heads back in that direction this time around. 79/23/90/22/.282

18. Justin Upton, OF
Don’t let the 2014 Padres scare you, the 2015 version of this team actually looks like a big league lineup. Upton was the biggest get of the MLB’s busiest team this offseason. Here’s why: 89/25/86/10/.267

19. Freddie Freeman, 1B
I know, I know, Atlanta’s lineup has become what people thought Houston’s would be last year. Let’s face it, Freddie’s all they have left. At least he’s pretty freakin’ awesome. 81/26/84/2/.287

20. Josh Donaldson, 3B
This kid’s got pop. What on Earth could Oakland do to showcase that HR-hitting prowess? Yup, trade him to Toronto. Thanks, Oakland! Don’t feel bad taking him in the 2nd round, he should bring solid dividends. 80/27/91/7/.260

21. Jose Altuve, 2B
How many Altuves does it take to win a fantasy championship? Just one for me, thank you. What he lacks in stature, he more than compensates for in skill. 109/5/60/42/.315

22. Bryce Harper, OF
For some reason, I feel like if Bryce Harper had a good attitude, he’d hit 35 home runs. That doesn’t make sense, I know. Because Bryce Harper will never have a good attitude. 78/24/80/15/.273

23. Michael Brantley, OF
Brantley enjoyed a breakout campaign in 2014 and I wouldn’t be surprised to see similar numbers in 2015, maybe even with a few more home runs sprinkled in. Let’s say: 80/23/85/21/.289

24. Adrian Beltre, 3B
I just don’t know what to do about Adrian Beltre this season. I traded him last year for a decent haul the day before he got injured. He ended up coming back, having three solid months, and then hit 4 HRs the rest of the way. Your guess is as good as (or better, but maybe worse than) mine. Here’s mine: 75/20/77/1/.296

25. Carlos Gonzalez, OF
I really hate having so many injury risks in my top 25, but sometimes you gamble and every now and then it pays off. Cargo is going to be what he always is: A guy that will miss a month (or more) of the season, but who will also finish the year with the numbers of a player that played the whole season. 73/24/79/12/.276


Thanks for taking the time out of your incredibly busy schedule to see what I had to say. Special thanks to anyone who actually read the blurbs and didn’t just skim over them to grab the projections: you are my hero(es?). If you have any questions, comments, or problems in your personal life, feel free to send me a tweet @waiverwagon. I can’t guarantee your success, but I can always guarantee mostly good-natured sarcasm. Also, be sure to subscribe to this blog for email updates each time I have a new post, and please share my site with your friends (or your enemies, if you want them to beat you in fantasy). Good day.

 Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 9.56.05 PM

Leave a Comment!

