1. Anthony Rendon, Nationals
Wow was this guy awesome last year, and boy oh boy do I think he’ll be even better this year! If taking 2B early is your thing, queue up Rendy and make it happen. 

2. Jose Altuve, Astros
I must let you in on a little secret: I am a Houston Astros fan. WAIT! BEFORE YOU CLOSE YOUR BROWSER AND THROW YOUR LAPTOP OUT THE WINDOW, HEAR ME OUT. I also know a lot about fantasy baseball and I don’t let those two things mix. Third, the Astros might actually be decent this year. Still there? Excellent. Back to Altuve: he won’t be hitting .340 again this year, but I can totally see .300+, with 5-7 bombs and 35+ SBs.

3. Robinson Cano, Mariners
So they moved the fences in at Safeco, did they? Excellent. Did they trade Cano back to New York, too? No? Alright then, color me un-excited. Second base is so tough for me to rank because I just don’t see myself spending the early picks required to get these guys this year. 

4. Ian Kinsler, Tigers
Kinsler looked rejuvenated last year and had the counting stats to back it up. While he’s no longer the 30/30 player that he was that one year in Texas, he’s still plenty capable of being a set-and-forget fantasy second baseman. Except if he gets hurt. And he will. Sigh. 

5. Jason Kipnis, Indians 
Boy did he anger some folks last year. Kipnis looked like the ticket after hitting 17 bombs and swiping 30 bags in 2013, only to completely fall on his face in 2014. I believe in the 2013 version more than the 2014, and I didn’t own him last year, so bitterness won’t influence my decision to take him this year. I think he could return excellent value based on where people are getting him right now. 

6. Brian Dozier, Twins
Dozier is a solid guy to own if you want low batting average, teeny bombs and 20+ steals. He did score 112 runs, though, so if you can stomach the average, he could be a heck of a bargain. 

7. Dee Gordon, Marlins
Confession: I dropped Dee Gordon before the season started last year.  Confession, part 2: I owned Jose Altuve, so I barely noticed. Confession, part 3: I may draft Gordon this year with my eyes closed, while I picture Altuve’s face. 

8. Neil Walker, Pirates
 I don’t just love the guy, but geez, he was really good last year. If he can stay healthy, he should easily outproduce most of the projections people have for him. 

9. Kolten Wong, Cardinals
Here’s a guy I wouldn’t hate to end up with on my squad. Wong missed a few games via demotion/injury, but he has some decent pop and good speed. I wouldn’t be shocked to see 15/20 or better from him this season. You can draft him after people are drafting pitchers to stream, for crying in silence. 

10. Daniel Murphy, Mets
Double-digit HRs and double-digit steals should come easily for Murphy this year. He’s another value pick that won’t blow you away with his big numbers, but will be good enough to stick in your 2B slot and forget about.


2015 First Base Rankings

2015 Shortstop Rankings 

2015 Third Base Rankings 

Screen Shot 2014-09-20 at 9.56.05 PM

Comments

Leave a Comment!

